Skip to main content

Celebration Awards 2017

Newcastle-under-Lyme College held its annual awards celebration on 26th June, where 40 different awards were made for outstanding contributions and successes.

With grateful thanks to our 2017 award sponsors:


Sixth Form Pathway - Academic Winners

  • A Level Arts Award sponsored by Fluid: Esther Hesketh, formerly Westwood High School
  • Bennett House Award: Millicent James, formerly Biddulph High School
  • Brittain House Award: Lloyd Astley, formerly Clayton Hall Academy
  • Lodge House Award: Parawazmin Jawadin, formerly Clayton Hall Academy
  • Wesley House Award: Rebecca Yamalimbu
  • Honours Programme Award sponsored by Jackie Sweeney: Phoebe Petherick, formerly St Peter’s Academy

Sixth Form Pathway - Vocational Winners

  • Business, Travel & Events Award: Nathan Goodwin, formerly Biddulph High School
  • Computing & IT Award sponsored by Capula: Josef Billington, formerly St John Fisher RC Catholic College
  • Creative Arts Award sponsored by Canprint: Nadia Ali, formerly St John Fisher RC Catholic College
  • Early Years Award: Faye Podmore, formerly Chesterton Community Sports College
  • Engineering Award sponsored by IMechE: George Richards, formerly Clayton Hall Academy
  • Health & Social Care Award sponsored by Staffordshire University: Jessica Burke, formerly Birches Head Academy
  • Performing Arts Award: Katherine Bell
  • Public Services Award: Megan Montford, formerly Chesterton Community Sports College
  • Science Award: Trisha Tabiana, formerly St Peter’s Academy
  • Sport Award: Alex Bradbury, formerly Clayton Hall Academy

Skills Based Awards

  • Construction Crafts Award, sponsored by Jewson: Jake Hall, formerly Wolstanton High School
  • Hairdressing & Beauty Award, sponsored by Remington UK: Courtney Taylor, formerly The Co-operative Academy of Stoke-on-Trent

Progression Awards

  • Foundation Level Award: China Longhurst, formerly The Coppice School
  • Intermediate Level Award: Dhanish Uella, formerly Thistley Hough High School
  • Award for Special Achievement: Rebecca Walley

Cross College Awards

  • Award for English: Megan Clorley, formerly Birches Head Academy
  • Award for Maths: Conor Lawton, formerly Haywood High School
  • Student of the Year – Adult sponsored by BluestormSteven Ellen
  • Student Xtra of the Year sponsored by Peake and Sons: Alexander Broad, formerly Newcastle Academy

Apprenticeship Awards

  • Intermediate Apprentice Award: Oliver Durber,  formerly Clayton Hall Academy
  • Advanced Apprentice Award sponsored by EMS Industries Ltd: Nathan Thorley, formerly Birches Head Academy
  • Advanced Apprentice Award sponsored by GVA: Shamima Miah
  • Higher Apprentice Award: Lauren Blundred

Employer Awards

Sport Awards

  • Sport Volunteer of the Year Award sponsored by Bee Active: Lia Perl Masibay,  formerly St Margaret Ward RC Academy
  • Team of the Year sponsored by Stoke City: Ladies’ Netball

Gordon Banks Award for Sporting Excellence sponsored by Stoke City:

  • Gordon Banks Award for Sport Excellence (Female): Rebecca Williams, formerly Madeley High School
  • Gordon Banks Award for Sport Excellence (Male): Daniel Gibbs, formerly St John Fisher RC Catholic College

Special Awards

Ellen Anderson Award sponsored by Home Instead:

Jack Dunham, formerly Alleyne’s High School

George Stonier Award sponsored by Ellis Williams Architects:

Hannah Barcroft, formerly Madeley High School

Principal’s Award - Sixth Form Pathway sponsored by University of Wolverhampton:

Daniel Heath, formerly Newcastle Academy

Principal’s Award - Vocational Pathway sponsored by Staffordshire University:

Medina Mohebbi, formerly Madeley High School


News & Events Sign Up

Sign up to receive our latest new and information on forthcoming events. Please tell us a bit about yourself so that we can ensure everything we send you is relevant to your interests.



To request a member of staff to call you please fill in the form below: